Welcome to “Unsung Heroes,” where we shine a light on those quietly making a big impact. In our new series, learn more about the incredible individuals who power Distillery’s journey.

Today we’d like to introduce Lela, our talented Client Partner!

Introduce yourself, your background/expertise, and your position at Distillery

I started my career in marketing and publicity in the media industry and shifted into technical staffing recruitment and business development. Since joining Distillery I’ve worn many hats including selling, leading the Account Management team, and now as a Client Partner and building out our Portfolio function.

Given your work experience, what are the most significant strengths that you bring to your role at Distillery?

I live by the idea that where there’s a will there’s a way — I love solving puzzles and am tenacious about finding solutions. I am dedicated, determined, and driven to produce results for my clients with business savvy and compassion.

What attracted you to Distillery?

The people! I get to work with talented people from all over the world. 

What has been your favorite part about being on the Distillery team?

Far and away, my favorite thing about Distillery is the people! It is so fun and refreshing to work and collaborate with so many talented people around the world. 

What are some skills or topics you’re learning about right now?

I’ve been learning a lot about DIY home improvement. My husband and I have been slowly fixing up a house we bought last summer and I recently learned how to cut and lay tile.

What’s your secret work-related “pet peeve” related to your role/industry that doesn’t really matter but drives you crazy?

 I know that this can’t be possible – and my husband would probably be shocked because he thinks I can get annoyed easily 🤣- but I honestly can’t think of any right now!

Coffee or tea? How many cups in a typical workday?

I like both! I love tea in the colder months but need coffee year-round. I love to start my day with a fresh, warm cup of coffee, but I usually need another (or 2) to get me through the day!

What do you enjoy doing outside of work?

I love anything with a creative outlet (cooking, crafting, or DIY home renovation!) and spending time exploring and adventuring in the outdoors – usually with my husband and my 11-month-old baby in tow!

What is your most-used/favorite emoji?


What’s your favorite book (or what are you currently reading)?

I hate to say it, but I read a lot more online nowadays than I do an actual book 😬. But I did read and enjoy the novel Lessons in Chemistry this summer! Growing up my favorite was To Kill a Mockingbird.

What is your ideal vacation (or what vacation did you last take)?

I would love to go to Banff in Canada. I love alpine mountain towns in any season!

What languages can you speak?

I only really speak English, but I do know a little bit of Spanish!

If you could live in any city, where would it be?

I don’t know! As I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized that I’m less of a big-city gal and prefer mid-small towns with great food, arts, and outdoor activities. I love where I live right now, just outside of Ojai, California – the only thing that I think it’s missing are Alpine mountains and the awesome recreation that comes with them!